Tom Epstein
Board Chair

Tom is a long-time environmental advocate who served in the administrations of President Clinton, Governor Brown and Insurance Commissioner John Garamendi.  Previously, he was a senior public affairs executive for Blue Shield of California and PBS. He currently serves on the Board of Governors of the California Community Colleges. Tom is a graduate of the University of Pennsylvania and UCLA Law School.

Sherry E. Jackman.
Vice Chair

Sherry E. Jackman is Counsel in Greenberg Glusker’s Environmental Group. Her practice focuses on environmental litigation and compliance counseling.

Estela de Llanos

Estela de Llanos is Vice President of Clean Transportation, Sustainability and Chief Environmental Officer for San Diego Gas & Electric Company. Previously, Estela was an attorney specializing in land use and environmental matters in the Los Angeles office of Latham & Watkins LLP. Estela is a graduate of Yale University and the University of Pennsylvania Law School.

Beth Reid

Beth is the CEO of Olivine, Inc., which provides infrastructure and services that enable distributed and aggregated resources—such as solar, demand response, electric vehicles and battery storage—to effectively and efficiently offer grid services. Beth is a proven leader with nearly two decades of experience in the energy industry including senior management positions. She specializes in creating and implementing customized solutions for clients in regulated and deregulated markets that incorporate both technological and non-technological components.

Ed Begley, Jr.
Board Member

Ed is a film, television and theater actor, perhaps best known for his Emmy-nominated role on the 1980s television series St. Elsewhere. A long time environmentalist, Begley lives in a solar- and wind-powered home and is a vocal champion of electric cars and other transportation alternatives, such as bicycling.

Todd Campbell
Board Member

Todd is the Vice President, Public Policy and Regulatory Affairs for Clean Energy Fuels Corporation. As a former CCA employee, he worked on alternative fuel advocacy and the improvement of atmospheric quality.

Glory Dolphin Hammes
Board Member

Glory Dolphin Hammes is Chief Executive Officer of IQAir’s North American division, a Swiss-based air quality technology company. A graduate of Marshall School of Business at USC, Glory’s emphasis was Entrepreneurship. Being a Certified Indoor Environmentalist and licensed HVAC contractor, Glory specializes in air quality. She is a member of the EPA’s air quality work group and she resides in Southern California.

Josh LaFarga
Board Member

Josh LaFarga serves as the Director of Public and Government Affairs for LiUNA Local 1309. He currently is the co-chair of Legislative Committee for FuturePorts, the largest nonprofit organization working to promote the Ports of Los Angeles and Long Beach. In September of 2015, Los Angeles Mayor Eric Garcetti appointed Mr. LaFarga to serve on the prestigious Board of Neighborhood Commissioners.

Thomas Lawson
Board Member

Thomas Lawson is the Regional Director of Government Affairs, Western States for Ford Motor Company.  Ford has committed to investing more than $30 billion by 2025 to electrify our most iconic nameplates and working to be carbon neutral companywide by 2050. Mr. Lawson has spent over a dozen years working on public policy and politics in Sacramento.

Ronald Loveridge
Board Member

Ron has 33 years of outstanding public service – as a Riverside Councilmember beginning in 1979 and as Mayor from 1994 to 2012. Mr. Loveridge also served on the Boards of the California Air Resources Board and the South Coast Air Quality Management District.

Bruce MacRae
Board Member

Bruce is the Vice President of State Government Affairs for the West Region of UPS. Bruce began his UPS career in 1978 as an un-loader in the Anaheim package facility. In addition to his professional responsibilities, Bruce plays an active role in and beyond his community, serving on the boards of such diverse organizations as the Long Beach Police Foundation (President) and the California Natural Gas Vehicle Coalition, to name only a few.

Bruce Melgar
Board Member

Bruce D. Melgar is the President and Chief Executive Officer of UrbanX Renewables Group, Inc., a commercial scale Fats, Oils and Grease rendering facility and renewable transportation fuel manufacturer located in Long Beach, CA. His previous work was as the Lead Project Manager for Pacific Underground Utilities managing public utility energy system upgrade implementations.

Erik Neandross
Board Member

Erik is the CEO of Gladstein, Neandross & Associates (GNA), an environmental consulting firm specializing in emissions reduction, energy and transportation policy and market development for alternative fuel vehicles.

Laura Renger
Board Member

Laura Renger is the Director of Electrification & Customer Services Policy for Southern California Edison. In this position, Laura is responsible for the utility’s regulatory and legislative policy concerning transportation electrification, building electrification, climate change, energy efficiency and energy equity. Laura holds a B.A. from Occidental College and a J.D. from Columbia Law School.

Alex Spataru
Board Member

Alex is President of the Adept Group, Inc, an environmental engineering consulting firm. Mr. Spataru has extensive experience with alternative fuels and engines and has consulted to state and federal regulatory entities, large and small manufacturers, oil and gas companies, as well as to utilities and laboratories.

Tom Swenson
Board Member

Tom began his career as a college intern with the California Energy Commission (CEC) in 1988. Following graduation from California State University, Sacramento with a Mechanical Engineering degree, Tom joined the Sacramento Metropolitan Air Quality Management District in the Vehicle and Technology Group. Tom moved to the private sector in 2003, joining Cleaire Advanced Emission Controls, a subsidiary of Cummins West. In 2013, Tom returned to a more traditional role within Cummins as the General Manager for Service Operations in Sacramento, managing the Service and Parts Sales Team for California and Hawaii. In 2018 as a Cummins employee within the Cummins Westport joint venture, his primary responsibility is to support the California deployment of near-zero engines.

Christy Ubellacker
Board Member

Christy is a Senior Product Manager at Aspiration, a green financial services company that offers socially-conscious and sustainable cash management services.  She received her Bachelor of Science in Mathematics and in Brain and Cognitive Sciences from Massachusetts Institute of Technology