Join us for the 2020 California Air Quality Awards


September 2, 2020 | online | 11:00 am – 12:00 pm

California State Senator Connie Leyva and Environmental Health Coalition Executive Director Diane Takvorian
in conversation with CCA Policy Director Bill Magavern

September 15, 2020 | online | 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Representatives from UPS and FritoLay in conversation with CCA President & CEO Dr. Joseph K. Lyou

September 17, 2020 | online | 1:00 – 2:00 pm

Awards Presentation & Honoree Panel Discussion

Buy Tickets

Interested in Sponsorship Opportunities? 
Contact Brian Sheridan at (213) 223-6872 or


Leadership in Government Award

The Honorable Connie M. Leyva

20th State Senate District

Senator Connie M. Leyva has been a strong environmental advocate in the California State Legislature since she was elected to the State Senate in 2014. The cities and communities of the 20th State Senate District—Bloomington, Chino, Colton, Fontana, Grand Terrace, Montclair, Muscoy, Ontario, Pomona, Rialto and San Bernardino—suffer disproportionate impacts from air pollution, and Senator Leyva has authored a number of important bills to improve air quality in low-income and marginalized communities across California.

She successfully authored CCA’s key priority legislation last year: SB 210 (Heavy-Duty Vehicle Inspection and Maintenance Program). This measure signed into law in September 2019, which establishes ‘smog check’ requirements for heavy-duty diesel trucks in California, will dramatically reduce toxic diesel exhaust emissions equivalent to taking up to 375,000 trucks off the road in the state. Among Senator Leyva’s numerous other wins for the environment in California are legislation requiring review of environmental justice impacts on local communities (SB 1000) and maximizing climate investments in low-income communities (SB 1072).

Corporate Environmental Stewardship Award


Since 2009, UPS has invested more than $1 billion in alternative fuel and advanced technology vehicles and infrastructure globally, with more than 10,000 of these vehicles in their fleet today. Renewable natural gas is a key part of the strategy to make alternative fuels 40% of total ground fuel consumption by 2025, an effort UPS expects to reduce greenhouse gases from its ground fleet by 12% over that period.

UPS also collaborates with cities to create innovative last-mile delivery solutions that reduce congestion and pollution in dense urban centers, with more than 30 projects currently underway around the world.

Environmental Advocacy Award

Environmental Health Coalition

Since 1980, the Environmental Health Coalition has worked to promote environmental justice in San Diego County and California.

Led by California Air Resources Board Member Diane Takvorian, EHC’s successes have resulted in the passage of multiple first-in-the-nation laws that protect low-income communities and communities of color.

We are proud to recognize an environmental justice organizations who has done so much to improve air quality in San Diego.

Corporate Environmental Stewardship Award


Frito-Lay, a division of PepsiCo, Inc. aims to replace all of its existing diesel-powered freight equipment with zero-emission and near-zero emission technologies at its Modesto manufacturing site. The project will transform the 500,000 sgf site – one of Frito-Lay’s largest in the U.S. – into an industry-leading showcase for environmentally sustainable manufacturing, warehousing and distribution.

Thank you to our 2020 Sponsors!













Here is a recap from our 2019 event:

On May 31, 2019, at the California Air Quality Awards luncheon, leaders from government, business and citizen advocacy again shared the stage to receive our thanks before an enthusiastic audience of hundreds of their peers.

For the 28th year, the Coalition for Clean Air presented our highest honors to California’s clean air champions. Each year at this signature gala event we salute the individuals, organizations, and companies who are making outstanding contributions to California’s clean air future.

Now is an important time to highlight businesses pushing the way forward for clean air technologies and the investments needed to get us there. That’s why we are proud to honor Victor La Rosa of Total Transportation Services, Inc., with the Clean Air Leadership Award. Vic has invested heavily in the testing, development, and use of zero-emission trucks (both hydrogen and electric) and has a stated goal of converting his entire local fleet of 200 trucks to either zero or near-zero emission by 2020.

Awardee United Airlines has led the way in converting to electrified cargo handling equipment and in renewable jet fuel and received our Corporate Stewardship Award.

In addition, the important role of California’s leadership can’t be understated, which is why we are honored California Attorney General Xavier Becerra with a Leadership in Government Award for defending California’s clean air authority and establishing the Bureau of Environmental Justice at the California Department of Justice. The Award was accepted by Environmental Advisor Arsenio Mataka, on behalf of Mr. Becerra who was kept in Sacramento by last minute urgent business.

We had a full house, being joined by speakers such as Congresswoman Judy Chu and CCA board member Ed Begley Jr. Congressman Ted Lieu welcomed our guests to the program and together with Torrance School Board Member Betty Lieu donated a dinner for four with the Lieu family to be raffled off. Congrats to the lucky winner, Joanne Hadley (not in attendance).

See some of our pictures below and be sure to sign up for our mailing list, so we can keep you informed about all we do to fight for clean air in California!


CCA President & CEO Dr. Joseph K. Lyou and CCA Board Chair Todd Campbell opening the program

Our Honorees with their Awards: Vic La Rosa of TTSI, Aaron Robinson of United Airlines and Arsenio Mataka, Environmental Advisor to the California Attorney General

Our honorees and platinum sponsors at the private Roundtable wit members of the California Air Resources Board and the South Coast Air Quality Management District.

Congresswoman Judy Chu with CCA Board Chair Todd Campbell and CCA President & CEO Joe Lyou

We love clean air!

CCA Board Members Ed Begley Jr. and Betty Lieu (Torrance School Board Member) and CCA President and CEO Joe Lyou

Congressman Ted Lieu welcomes our guests

Val Zavala, formerly of KCET, expertly moderates our honoree panel

CCA board members showing their love for clean air: Tom Epstein, Bruce MacRae, Ed Begley, Jr. and Todd Campbell

For more pictures, visit FB.